Home » Our Governors

Our Governors

The Local Governing Body:

  • sets the school’s strategic direction
  • holds the head teacher to account for a school’s performance
  • ensures that the school’s budget is properly managed

Full meetings are held at least once a term. Agendas, minutes and Headteacher’s reports are available for inspection in the school office.

Who are our governors?

Our governors are comprised of parents, staff, and representatives from the community, local authority and diocese.

  • Ian Gowrie, Parent Governor (chair)
  • Steve Lincoln, Associate Governor (vice-chair)
  • Sarah Sutton, Foundation Governor
  • Liz Dunn, Co-opted Governor
  • Stephen Reeves, Parent Governor
  • Peter Beare, Head of School

SEN and Safeguarding governor: Sarah Sutton

To contact the governors please email the clerk: vdower@acornacademy.org, or write to the Chair of Governors, Loders CE Primary, Loders, Bridport, DT6 3SA.


Loders CE Primary Academy – LOCAL GOVERNING BODY


  Attendance at LGB meetings 2016-2017
Name Type of Governor Appointing Body Office Term Role Registered


Possible Attendance
Mrs Rowan Beecham Acting Head of School Ex Officio as Head Ex-officio 7 7
Dr Ian Gowrie


Parent Elected by Parents Chair 01.04.16 -31.03.20 Wife works part time at the school 7 7
Mr Steve Lincoln Associate Governing Body Vice Chair 01.04.16 – 31.03.20 7 7
Mrs Lis Dunn Co-opted Trust Board 09.02.17 – 08.02.21 None 7
Mrs Sarah Sutton Foundation Salisbury Diocese 01.04.16 – 31.03.20 Safeguarding


7 6
Mr Stephen Reeves Parent Elected by parents 01.04.16 – 31.03.20 Wife works as an MTA at the school 7 2
Ms Bethan McGrath Staff Elected by staff 01.04.16 – 31.04.20 7 6

About school governors

Find out more about school governors
Read the Governors handbook